Boosting further travel between Australia and India Jul 16, 2018

SYDNEY, 5 JULY. The Australia India Business Council (AIBC) and the Australia India Travel & Tourism Council (AITTC) marked a milestone in the Australia-India bilateral relationship with the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) at Sofi tel Wentworth Sydney to collaborate on travel and tourism initiatives.

Commenting on the milestone, AIBC National Chair Sheba Nandkeolyar said: “The Australia Inda Business Council is proud to partner with the Australia India Travel & Tourism Council on this bilateral travel and tourism initiative. We are confi dent that AITTC will be able to further drive and enhance the bilateral travel and tourism relationship between our two countries. Indeed, with India and Australia having recently moved to liberalise travel between the two countries, this is an important step in bilateral relations.”

AITTC Chairman Sandip Hor said: “Indeed, travel has enormous potential to build on the people-to-people links and relationships that are so central to facilitating the bilateral business relationship. Through travel, the two countries can deepen the understanding of each other, our cultural dynamics and build bridges.”

During a brief speech, Consul General of India B Vanlalvawna expressed his support the initiative and belief that bilateral tourism opportunities were rapidly increasing. He encouraged more Australians to visit India and believed that the MoU was a step in the right direction.

During his speech Mr Paul Myler, Assistant Secretary of India and Indian Ocean – DFAT spoke about the proposed launch of the India Economic Strategy 2035 and the focus on certain bilateral opportunities including travel and tourism – which he said would be important cornerstones for this relationship.

Indian Voice has been informed that the MoU signing event – sponsored by AITTC partner ACCOR Group - was attended by senior Government and Industry dignitaries, including; Jodi McKay, MP; Rhonda Piggott, DFATs NSW State Director; Robert Siy, Austrade Adviser, Tourism & Regional Investment, Trade & Investment Group; Deputy Consul General, Chandru Appar; AIBC Chairman Emeritus Neville Roach; Former AIBC National Chair, Dipen Rughani; AIBC State President Barbara Ward; AIBC NSW Vice President Pallavi Sinha; and representatives from AITTC among others.

AIBC was founded in 1986 while AITTC was founded in 2012, as per the AIBC press release.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Suggest improvements to the website